World Cup Groups

Posted By faza657 On Tuesday, December 17th, 2013 With 0 Comments

World Cup Groups

On 6 December 2014, anxious football fans will all be hooked up to their computers or TV screens to watch the live broadcast of the 2014 FIFA World Cup Final Draw. The draw will take place at the scenic Costa do Sauípe Resort at 13:00 local time in Brazil.

Ahead of the final draw, the 32 qualified nations will be split up into four pots of eight teams each. The host nation Brazil along with the seven most highly ranked teams in the tournament will be seeded in the first pot to prevent them from competing against each other in the early stages of the tournament and give a better chance to the weaker teams.

The teams in pot 1 include Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Uruguay, Belgium, Germany, Spain and Switzerland. Each team will be heading one of the eight groups that will be formed for the group stage of the finals.

The other pots are arranged according to geography. There will be one team drawn from every football confederation in each group, except for UEFA members since up a maximum of two European teams are permitted to compete in the same group. Pot 2 comprises all the teams from the African zone, pot 3 includes teams from Asia and the Americas whereas pot 4 consists of European teams.

Once the draw is complete, fans will scramble to fill in their fixture tables and begin charting the likely progress of their team on its way to the final. The most intrepid fans will also use this information to build their betting strategy for predicting the group winners as well the the final winner of the tournament.

For the latest tips and betting odds, stay tuned on as we report the very latest news from the field and the bookmakers.