World Cup Past Winners

Posted By faza657 On Tuesday, December 17th, 2013 With 0 Comments

The FIFA World Cup tournament holds a special place in every football fan’s heart. Time in football is practically measured in terms of World Cup editions, and you’ll find that almost everyone who has lived through more than one World Cup can recall the host nation and the winners of each edition.

The winners of the FIFA World Cup enjoy the title of reigning world champions in the football world for four years. Since the first edition of this tournament, some 80-odd years ago, only eight countries have taken home the title.

With five titles won, Brazil is undoubtedly the most successful football team in history. This year’s host nation have won the tournament on two consecutive years, on 1958 and 1962 (the only nation together with Italy to have pulled this feat), and subsequently on 1970, 1994 and 2002.

Italy is another team renowned for their fierce style of play and dogged determination. The Azzurri have won the honour four times in 1934, 1938 and, after the World War II hiatus, again in 1982 and 2006.

World Cup Past Winners

Germany is another powerful contender on the field, known for its players’ great tactical skills that have earned them the title of world champions in football three times. Back then the team was known as West Germany and it clinched the titles in 1954, 1974 and 1990.

With a pedigree in football like that enjoyed by Uruguay and Argentina, it is no wonder these they also grace the roll of honour in football history. Uruguay were crowned world champions at the very first World Cup back in 1930 and pulled it off again twenty years later in 1950. Argentina is a team that left an indelible mark on football history with players of the calibre of Diego Maradona and Gabriel Batistuta. It took home the title on two occasions, in 1978 and 1986.

Europe has contributed the largest number of national teams to win the title. Apart from Italy, England and France both won the World Cup once each, the former in 1966 and the latter 1998. Finally, the incumbent world champions are Spain, who took their first title four years ago in South Africa 2010.

Which team will be crowned world champion on 13 July 2014? Are you ready to bet on that? Up the stakes this World Cup and become a winner yourself!